VEGETARIAN FOOD LABELS
Becoming a vegetarian isn’t an easy feat in these days. Especially with the variety of brands, products and food labels that exist in the market. If a person is new to it he will find himself, wondering, how to read the food labels in order to avoid red meat and animal derivatives.
Although food labels now contain a lot of useful information, food labels aren’t clear enough for certain niche markets. And vegetarians fall within that realm. After all, food labels contain ingredients such us modified corn starch or xanthan gum. What are those things listed on food labels? Should a vegetarian consume them? With these kinds of examples in food labels, the first conclusion is that food labels still have a long way to go.
Thankfully, there are food labels that are more vegan-friendly. Food labels may include a certification that says that that product can be consumed by a vegetarian; something similar happens with food labels in kosher food. In the case of kosher food, their food labels indicate that the food can be consumed by Jews.
Another option is to look for a vegan store. Almost every major city has one. There anyone can find a full variety of products. And all of their food labels will be marked with the ingredients that are included inside.
Thanks to these food labels, any client can determine, easily, the ingredients and additives that have been used. After all, there are different degrees of vegetarianism. There are people who don't consume red meat, but they continue to eat milk and cheese.
Others simply do not consume red meat and animal derivatives. In some cases, they do not eat animal derivatives from land animals, but do consume sea food like fish or shellfish. In those instances, food labels become really useful.